The Salthouse Fields in Clevedon are set in a fantastic location with woodland surroundings and picturesque sea views.
Originally salt panning was carried out on a 7 year lease by Samuel Gorges of Wraxall from 1689. He had permission from the Lord of the Manor to set up buildings, furnaces and retaining walls for the making of salt, which was done by letting sea water into depressions in the fields and letting evaporation take it’s course, the remaining moisture was boiled off in the furnaces.
Two cottages used by the salt workers were later converted into a fine private house by Mr Ferdinand Beeston, a timber merchant in the early 1830’s. He owned the house for some 20 years and when he became bankrupt, it was purchased by Conrad Finzel Junior, whose father built and owned what is now Clevedon Hall. The Finzels were sugar merchants and legend has it that they watched their ships come up the channel from the gazebo on Sugar Loaf Point, now restored by the Civic Society
The gardens and woods surrounding the salthouse pub were acquired by Clevedon Urban District Council for £700, and opened to the public, along with Salthouse Field. In the years before World War 2, before television became so popular, you could walk from the Pier Beach to Salthouse and back again, and meet almost everyone in the town on a warm summer evening…
Today as well as the skate park, there are extensive childrens play areas, tennis courts , a bowls club and Clevedons very own model railway – that runs round the field.